Tuesday, 31 January 2017

Freaky and Fearless BOOK THREE (3!) Release date ANNOUNCEMENT!

We are absolutely thrilled to be able to announce that the third Freaky & Fearless book (Bazookas for Beginners) will launch on 23rd February! 

The final part of the trilogy brings the tall, TALL tale of Simon Moss, Whippet Willow and Lucy Shufflebottom to an end ... and it does it in STYLE!

While exploring Castle Fearless, our three brave adventurers track down the source of the comic creatures that have been wreaking havoc on Lake Shore. But what does this have to do with the Freaky and Fearless comic creators, the Library of WOW, Lucy's latest invention and Mossy's dad? All is revealed as the kids explore a new dimension of reality and T-Rex and The Captain finally reveal their true identities.

If you're yet to experience this series, now's the time. With out-of-this-world artwork by the mighty Jan Bielecki, FREAKY & FEARLESS is a fun-filled series of madness, imagination and adventure, perfect for fans of Tom Gates! 

More Freaky news incoming soon, but if you just can't wait, why not read MASSIVE FREE CHAPTERS from books 1 and 2 HERE and HERE?!

Robin






Monday, 30 January 2017

Von Doogan and the Atomic Automobile has BEGUN!

The EIGHTH Von Doogan Adventure, The Atomic Automobile, launched this week, exclusively in The Phoenix! Get ready for fun :)

Lorenzo!

Friday, 27 January 2017

Stranski featured on UPDATE OR DIE and BUZZTRENDS

Very chuffed to say that Stranski was recently featured on two more pop culture sites, Update or Die and BuzzTrends. I won't post links here as they're not all-ages sites, but huge cheers to them both for sharing Stranski with their readership!

 Oh, and don't forget, our Long Gone Don book launch is in Bath TOMORROW! GO HERE for all the details! See you there! 

Lorenzo!

Thursday, 26 January 2017

MASSIVE Long Gone Don BOOK TWO PREVIEW is NOW UP!

Hey folks! Set your eyeballs to FREE STUFF and head on over HERE to read a giant preview from our new Long Gone Don book, The Terror-Cotta Army! And if you want to read HUGE FREE PREVIEWS from EVERY ONE of our books, just GO HERE :)

Lorenzo!

Wednesday, 25 January 2017

How to THINK when you draw ANGRY MOODY FACIAL EXPRESSIONS and CHARACTERS

Today's tutorial request came via email from Naomi Anfisa who asked for a tutorial on FACIAL EXPRESSIONS. Another big topic this, so I'm going to divide it into different expressions, starting today with ANGRY FACES. We'll get into other emotions and expressions in future tutorials.
If YOU have a REQUEST for a tutorial subject, just let us know over on INSTAGRAM HERE or on TWITTER HERE.

And click these links for tutorials covering how to draw...
FABRIC     WATER     VEHICLES

Lorenzo!

Tuesday, 24 January 2017

Here's what we're bringing to the Cheltenham True Believer's comic festival on 4th February!

Very pleased to announce the the True Believers Comic Festival in Cheltenham on the 4th Feb will be our FIRST comic show with our NEW LONG GONE DON BOOK! We'll also be offering an awesome FREE PRINT when you buy two or more books :)

Scroll down to see all the other piles of swag we'll have with us...!

Lorenzo!

Monday, 23 January 2017

The Art of Stranski 23

Just over TEN WEEKS now until the launch of The Art of Stranski full colour hardback BOOK!

In the meantime, you can see today's piece animated at FULL SIZE HERE, and all the other 22 Stranski posters right HERE!

Lorenzo!

Friday, 20 January 2017

Sewer pipe house concept art

Here's some mice (or rats?) who made themselves a lovely little place to live...

Lorenzo!

Thursday, 19 January 2017

From the archives: Vintage STRANSKI

Here's a detail of a Stranski poster from 7 years ago!
Just over 10 weeks to go until the launch of the full colour hardback ART OF STRANSKI BOOK :)

Lorenzo!

Wednesday, 18 January 2017

How to THINK when you draw VEHICLES with STANCE, POISE and PERSONALITY

My huge new series of tutorials continues! This one is a request from Krishna Sadasivam (@pcweenies over on INSTAGRAM) who asked for a tutorial on VEHICLES. Obviously vehicle design is a MASSIVE topic, so I'm going to split it up, today focusing on using the stance of your vehicle to establish personality and drive style. I'll be getting into other elements of designing and drawing vehicles in future tutorials.
If YOU have a REQUEST for a tutorial subject, just let us know over on INSTAGRAM HERE or on TWITTER HERE.

And if you want more like this, then why not read my HOW TO DRAW WATER TUTORIAL and HOW TO DRAW FABRIC TUTORIAL :)

Lorenzo!

Tuesday, 17 January 2017

Time now CONFIRMED for Long Gone Don Launch Party!

Following on from last week's OFFICIAL ANNOUNCEMENT about the Long Gone Don launch party on 28th January (you're all invited!) I can now confirm that we will be in the shop from 11am until 1pm. For those two hours, we'll be signing, sketching and chatting, so if you can, drop by and say hi!

We can also now confirm, that to celebrate The Phoenix's 5th birthday, and the exciting new Drawn to Reading project, we'll be giving away no less that 300 comics! Read all about it right HERE on Mr. B's official site!

Lorenzo!


Monday, 16 January 2017

Von Doogan returns VERY SOON!

Hey guys, to celebrate Von Doogan's imminent return to the pages of The Phoenix in his EIGHTH adventure, The Atomic Automobile, here's a little panel or two from one of his last escape, The Deadly Diamonds of Doom...!

Lorenzo!

Friday, 13 January 2017

FREE A5 character sketch with EVERY copy of Long Gone Don BOOK 2 bought before January 19th!

HAPPY FRIDAY! Well, I told you last week to hold off on buying your copy of the new Long Gone Don book, and here's why: from now until the 19th January, you'll get a FREE A5 character sketch with your copy of Long Gone Don and the Terror-Cotta Army, when bought through the Phoenix store RIGHT HERE!

Go get one!

Lorenzo!

Thursday, 12 January 2017

FRAMED!

Here's a little snap of the last of the Stranski prints that I had framed up for Ma Etherington for Christmas, as it was her favourite (hi Ma!).

The Stranski print shop will return for just 30 days later this year with NEW DESIGNS! Keep your dial tuned to the E-bros!

Lorenzo!


Wednesday, 11 January 2017

How to THINK when you draw SEA WATER and WAVES

Here we go, continuing my new, EPIC series of tutorials! Today we're looking at WATER, WAVES, SPLASHES and the SEA!
If you like this, why not GO HERE for my how to draw Fabric and Cloth tutorial!

TWEET US HERE with your tutorial REQUESTS, and I'll do my best to tackle them for you :)

Lorenzo!

Tuesday, 10 January 2017

UPCOMING EVENT! True Believers Comic Festival CHELTENHAM 4th February!

What the WHAT?! TWO posts in ONE DAY?! Yes, that's right, another event announcement today, to remind you that on Saturday 4th February we'll be bringing a LOT of our swag to the True Believers Comic Festival, in Cheltenham! More details of what we're bringing soon, and you can learn everything about the festival RIGHT HERE!

Lorenzo!

Announcing the LONG GONE DON BOOK 2 Launch EVENT at Mr B's in BATH 28th January!

Hey folks, very excited to now be able to announce that we'll be hosting a Long Gone Don and the Terror Cotta Army launch event at Mr B's Emporium of Reading Delights in BATH on Saturday 28th this month! More details and times to follow, but if you fancy coming along, having a chat and getting a book (with a free sketch! and a FREE COMIC!) then save the date!

Lorenzo!

Monday, 9 January 2017

Friday, 6 January 2017

Thursday, 5 January 2017

Long Gone Don and the Terror Cotta Army is out TODAY! But DON'T BUY IT YET...!

YEEEEEES! Today, my friends, our new Long Gone Don adventure - The Terror Cotta Army - is OUT! And what an epic tale of action, comedy and ridiculousness it is! We're going to be showing you tons and TONS of stuff from the book over the coming weeks ... get your eyeballs ready!

So, YES, the book is out now,  HOWEVER  - if you like to get something a little extra when you make a purchase, then DON'T BUY YOUR COPY JUST YET! We have a VERY exclusive little offer (in partnership with The Phoenix) that we'll be telling you about at the end of next week! So, (if you can!) wait until then, and bag yourself something REALLY special :)

Oh yeah, AND we're going to be announcing a LAUNCH EVENT for the book that you're ALL invited to ... keep it tuned to the E-Bros for more info real soon!

Lorenzo!

Wednesday, 4 January 2017

How to THINK when you draw DRAPING FABRIC

Right, here we go with my brand new series of tutorials, entitled How to THINK When you DRAW. I'm going to hit a massive range of subjects, techniques and approaches in this series, so there should be something for everyone, no matter what your interests or ability level.
Oh, and if you have any area of drawing that you'd particularly like to see a tutorial for, TWEET US HERE with your REQUESTS, and I'll do my best to tackle them for you :)

The first two tutorials are looking at how to draw draping or hanging fabric and creases, enjoy!

Lorenzo!

Tuesday, 3 January 2017

The Art of Stranski 22

Hey, 2017, we're ready for you!!! Let's charge straight into the New Year just like we did this time last year with a brand new Stranski poster! See it at FULL SIZE (animated) HERE!

Just 3 months now until The Art of Stranski full colour hardback BOOK :) See LOADS more right HERE!

Lorenzo!